SNOLAB

Queen's University, Lively, Ontario
Area(s) of Expertise

SNOLAB is an international facility for underground science; it is an expansion of the original facilities constructed for the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) solar neutrino experiment. The primary focus of the science program includes solar neutrinos, supernova neutrinos, neutrino-less double beta decay and dark matter searches. SNOLAB supports eight projects covering these research fields, including various aspects of the dark matter interaction parameter space, and both neutrino source and intrinsic physics studies. Projects range in size up to kiloton detectors.

While particle astrophysics is the principle focus for SNOLAB, there is a growing interest among other scientific fields in exploiting deep underground laboratories and their associated infrastructure. In particular, there have been growing developments in the fields of mining innovation, where SNOLAB supports data analytics for mining innovation, and biology/genetics, where SNOLAB supports projects studying the impact of underground low radiation environments on biological systems.

The great depth at which SNOLAB is located is required to shield these sensitive detection systems from the ubiquitous cosmic radiations that bombard the surface of the planet. By placing 2km (6000m water equivalent) of rock between the detectors and the surface, these cosmic rays are sufficiently attenuated, by a factor of 50 million down to one cosmic ray muon every day per 4m2, so that the rare and exquisite signals from the science of interest can be separated from the signatures from other backgrounds.
SNOLAB is unique in the world because it is run as a CLASS-2000 Clean Room and low-background facility (including cosmic rays).  The laboratory is located 6800 feet underground in an active mine, which requires immense expertise from the engineering and logistics teams to maintain the cleanliness protocols at all times.

SNOLAB also has multiple germanium detectors used to measure background radiation level in materials, an ultra pure water plant that produces incredibly clean H2O, a precision radon gas measuring system and a newly constructed scintillator processing plant.

What the facility does

Underground research laboratory specializing in dark matter, neutrino studies, low background counting and supernovae detection.

Research Services

Low-background counting, Class-2000 clean room space, low background facility space (including cosmic rays), ultra pure water production, scientist and engineering expertise in constructing clean laboratories, SNOLAB low-background data repository, sensitive radon gas measurements, analytical services.

Sectors of Application
  • Clean technology
  • Life sciences, pharmaceuticals and medical equipment
  • Mining, minerals and metals

Name of specialized lab

Name of equipment

Description of function

SNOLAB

Ultra pure water plant

Production of highly pure H2O

 

Germanium counters

Material screening and counting system

 

Scintillator processing plant

Production and maintenance of LAB (linear alkyl benzene) scintillator

 

Radon emanation chamber

Sensitive radon measurements

 

Low -ackground data repository

SNOLAB maintains a database in a spreadsheet format for each material. The data is shown in units of mBq/kg or pp(b or m)

 

CLASS 2000 clean room

Facility that maintains a cleanliness level of 2000 particles above 0.5mm /ft3 and 2 km of rock overburden (6000 m water equivalent)

  • Carleton University
  • Laurentian University
  • Queen’s University
  • University of Alberta
  • Université de Montréal
  • Bubble Technology Industries Inc.
  • Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation
  • MIRARCO Mining Innovation
  • TRIUMF
  • Canadian Light Source
  • Perimeter Institute
  • University of Toronto

SNOLAB

Queen's University, Lively, Ontario
Domaines d'expertise

SNOLAB est une installation scientifique souterraine internationale construite à partir des installations d’expérimentation sur les neutrinos solaires de l’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury. Elle est spécialisée dans la recherche sur la matière noire et  l’étude des neutrinos provenant du Soleil et de supernovas ou issus de la double désintégration bêta sans émission de neutrinos. SNOLAB soutient huit projets dans ces champs d’études, notamment sur différents aspects de l’espace des paramètres d’interaction de la matière noire ainsi que sur les sources de neutrinos et la physique des propriétés intrinsèques. L’envergure de ces projets est variée, les plus importants utilisant des détecteurs possédant une masse de l’ordre de la kilotonne.

SNOLAB porte principalement son attention sur la physique des astroparticules, mais l’intérêt pour l’utilisation de laboratoires situés profondément sous terre croît dans d’autres sphères de recherche scientifique. Plus précisément, on constate des avancées rapides dans les domaines de l’innovation minière et de la biologie ou génétique, pour lesquels SNOLAB soutient des projets visant respectivement à analyser des données et à étudier les répercussions des environnements souterrains à faible rayonnement sur les systèmes biologiques.

La grande profondeur des installations permet de protéger les systèmes de détection sensibles contre l’omniprésence des rayons cosmiques qui bombardent la surface terrestre. Les deux kilomètres de roche (l’équivalent de 6000 mètres d’eau) entre les détecteurs et la surface bloquent suffisamment les rayons cosmiques, dont la présence est réduite à un muon par quatre mètres carrés chaque jour, soit 50 millions de fois moins qu’à la surface. Ainsi, les rares et faibles signaux d’intérêt détectés peuvent être séparés du rayonnement de fond.

SNOLAB est le seul au monde à être considéré comme un laboratoire propre répondant aux normes de classe 2000, tout en offrant des installations avec faible rayonnement de fond (y compris les rayons cosmiques). Situé à plus de deux kilomètres sous terre dans une mine active, SNOLAB exige un degré d’expertise extraordinaire des équipes d’ingénierie et de logistique pour que les protocoles de propreté soient respectés en tout temps.

Le laboratoire est également doté de multiples détecteurs au germanium utilisés pour mesurer le rayonnement de fond dans divers matériaux, d’installations de production d’eau ultra pure capable de générer de l’eau (H2O) d’une pureté incroyable, d’un système de mesure précise des concentrations de radon gazeux et de nouvelles installations de production de scintillateurs.

Que fait l'installation

Laboratoire de recherche souterrain qui se spécialise dans la matière noire, l’étude des neutrinos, le comptage avec faible bruit de fond et la détection de supernovas.

Services de recherche

Comptage avec faible rayonnement de fond, Salles propres répondant aux normes de classe 2000, Espaces à faible rayonnement de fond (y compris les rayons cosmiques), Production d’eau ultra pure, Expertise scientifique et en ingénierie dans la construction de laboratoires propres, Entrepôt de données avec faible rayonnement de fond de SNOLAB,Mesures sensibles de concentrations de radon gazeux, Services analytiques

Secteurs d'application
  • Technologies propres
  • Sciences de la vie, produits pharmaceutiques et équipement médical
  • Mines, minerais et métaux

Nom du laboratoire spécialisé

Nom de l’équipement

Résumé de la fonction

SNOLAB

Installations de production d’eau ultra pure

Production d’eau (H2O) d’un degré de pureté élevé.

 

Détecteurs au germanium

Système de criblage et de comptage des matériaux.

 

Installation de production de scintillateur

Production de scintillateur à base d’alkyl-benzènes linéaires (LAB).

 

Chambre d’émanation de radon

Mesure sensible du radon

 

Entrepôt de données avec faible rayonnement de fond

SNOLAB garde à jour une base de données en format tableur pour chaque matériau. Les valeurs sont entrées en mBq/kg ou en ppm ou ppb.

 

Salle propre répondant aux normes de classe 2000

Installation qui maintient un niveau de propreté d’au plus 2000 particules de plus de 0,5 mm par pi3 et qui est enfouie sous 2 km de roche (équivalent de 6000 m en eau de blindage).

  • Carleton University
  • Université Laurentienne
  • Queen’s University
  • University of Alberta
  • Université de Montréal
  • Bubble Technology Industries Inc.
  • Centre for Excellence in Mining Innovation
  • MIRARCO Mining Innovation
  • TRIUMF
  • Centre canadien de rayonnement synchrotron
  • Perimeter Institute
  • University of Toronto